I have been using the WSP Builder tool from CodePlex for a while to help me produce WSP files.       Today I suddenly got the following error:

WSPBuilder

Version: 0.9.8.0206

Created by Carsten Keutmann

GPL License 2007

Microsoft SharePoint Services Timer is not running on CORDEVS01

Preflight requirements failed.

After spending about 30 minutes checking that the Service was running at that everything was ok.    So in desperation I whipped out reflector to see what that check was doing.  It was doing the following.

ServiceController controller = new ServiceController("SPTimerV3");

if (controller.Status == ServiceControllerStatus.Running)

{

controller.Stop(); controller.WaitForStatus(ServiceControllerStatus.Stopped, timeout);

}

Suddenly the light came on upstairs…   I hadn’t started Visual Studio with Administration privileges.       I jumped out of VS and restarted with Administration privileges and guess what it worked.

So that I don’t forget to do it again I have enabled run the program as an administrator.

image

