Whilst watching the VSTS 2010 Team Build Video by Jim Lamb when he was demonstrating the ability to configure what to delete when a build is deleted as part of the retention policy.

image 

From the above screen shoot it looks like they haven’t made any changes to the how the retention policy works.   As I was watching this it reminded me of the fact that you cannot use build quality as a trigger for the retention policies.

Now as I was a significant contributor to TFS Deployer any changes to the retention policy always sparks my interest.   To perform the deployment TFS Deployer uses changes to the build quality to indicate quick deploy applications from one environment to another.    What would be nice is for the retention policy to also be triggered off the build quality.  This would allow you to then retain all builds that have a “production” build quality, or the last 10 builds that have been “released to test”.

Anyway, I’ll keep my eye out for other changes in this area.

